Birthday in Barca

March 16th

In the United States, turning 21 is suppose to be the biggest birthday you’ve ever had. Finally, you are legal to have your first drink of alcohol and get into any bar you want. You want to make sure it is epic. Even though I would be celebrating my 21st birthday in Barcelona and I am already technically legal, I wanted it to be just as epic. My friends made sure to make it the best birthday. They definitely succeeded.

My alarm was set for 6am. My best friend, Lillie was flying in from Chicago to help me celebrate. I’ve missed her so much. This was already a great birthday present. She arrived at my apartment and I couldn’t have been happier. It was early but I had no desire to sleep anymore. We talked on our balcony until I had class. My other roommates surprised me with candy from Happy Pills. 

Luckily, my first two classes let us out early. Lillie met me on La Rambla for a birthday lunch. She was pleased with her first meal of tapas. I was so excited to show her my new city. After lunch, we went shopping in the area. Lillie bought a few souvenirs from street vendors. We made sure to stop by Pull & Bear and H&M. We also visited the biggest supermarket, Boqueria on La Rambla for treats. Lillie loves chocolate and any time of sweets, just like me. One more class and it was back to the apartment to get ready for the night.

My three roommates had already got the music started. “Kara’s 21st” Playlist was blasting the room and everyone was singing to me. The night started with all of my best friends and eating dinner at CDLC along the beach. Everyone loved the elegant atmosphere. After dinner, we met more of my friends at The Room. My new friends from Valencia made sure to stop by. A club promoter in the area set us up with a table and free drinks for the whole night. It was so nice to have all of my new and old friends all in one place.

Around midnight, everyone made their way over to the club, Shoko. The promoter provided us with bottle service, VIP, and sparklers for all of my friends. Everyone loved it. Ending the night at Opium, we danced and were lucky enough to receive another VIP table. It was the perfect night.

IMG_4507

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

So, even though I wasn’t in the states, it was the best birthday I have ever had. With a great group of friends, the location hardly matters. If you are celebrating your birthday in Barcelona, I have a few tips!

  • Contact a club promotor
    • You can do this via Facebook. Add them as friends and send one a message. They are happy to help!
  • Have a nice dinner with your closed pals
    • CDLC was a great choice for dinner. It was perfect with the amount of people I invited so it wasn’t too overwhelming.
  • Have no worries!
    • This is your day! Make the most of it by letting lose and having a great time.
Leave a Reply

