Paris, Je t’aime!

Paris, France: February 20th – February 22nd 

It was a Friday morning and it was the trip I couldn’t wait for. On all the other flights I have taken I’ve slept the entire way, but not this one. I knew my dad would be waiting for me when I landed. I couldn’t wait to practice my French and eat macaroons at a café.

At 9am, my dad was waiting at my gate. Immediately after checking into the hotel, I dragged my dad to the Eiffel Tower.You never forget the first time you see it. It was pouring rain and still beautiful.

IMG_3387Before we went to back to the hotel for the night, we stopped at a restaurant for homemade French fries and ice cream. It was so delicious that we went back the next night. Fries really do taste better in France.

The next morning, my dad and I were ready to explore Paris. My sister, Kayla, and her boyfriend, Sam, weren’t supposed to arrive for a few hours. When we made our way to the lobby, they were there! Their plane landed early. It was a great surprise to see my sister.

IMG_3439They were exhausted from the flight. While they napped, my dad and I went exploring in the pouring rain again. I made him walk me back to the Eiffel Tower and through Champ de Mars. Soon, I got cold and we had to walk back to get hot chocolate.

When everyone woke up, we walked to the Arc de Triomphe. This was also close to our hotel. The Arc was huge, much bigger than Barcelona’s. Next, we walked down Place Charles de Gaulle for shopping and dinner. Everyone was still exhausted from the long flights so, we went to sleep early.

IMG_3683_2Sunday morning was a beautiful morning. The sky was bright blue and didn’t have cloud. For the third time, I hurried to the Eiffel Tower. We ate breakfast and drank our espressos. After a photoshoot in front of the tower, we took a bus tour through the city. This took us to all the major places in Paris.

The Notre Dame in Paris was beautiful. We made sure to tour the inside. I couldn’t believe how old the cathedral was, dating back to 1163. Even though we didn’t get to see the Mona Lisa, my other favorite destination was the Louvre. We didn’t have time to make it inside the museum due to the long lines.

We also saw L’ Hôtel Des Invalides, The Opera House, Grand Palais, Place de la Concorde, Trocadéro, and Place Vendôme. Paris is huge, I noticed. There are so many amazing sites to see. We were lucky to accomplish them all in a day.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Traveling to Paris in a weekend? Here are my favorite parts that I recommend:

  • Eiffel Tower (at least three times)
  • French Fries (who cares if they aren’t technically French?)
  • Bus Tour (especially if you only have a day)
  • Louvre (buy your tickets ahead of time, if you want to see the Mona Lisa)
  • Macaroons!
  • Notre Dame de Paris (the inside)

“Paris is always a good idea,” Audrey Hepburn couldn’t have said it better herself. Even though it was practically a hurricane of rain for the first two days, we managed to see everything in one beautiful day.

Leave a Reply

