Got Juice?

In between my classes this week, I decided to take my usual walk down Las Ramblas. As I was walking, I came across many food options for lunch. Pizza, baguettes, and gelato seemed to be the popular options along this street. I was about to settle for a Pan & Company until I came across a large, fresh food market called Mercat de St. Josep Boqueria.

IMG_3895

This market had plenty of fresh fruits, vegetables, meats, fish, olives, bread, and even candy. I was fascinated by all the colorful fruits I saw. The market was clean and reasonably priced.

As I made my way through this large market, my eyes kept shifting to the natural juices. There were so many different options. Pineapple, orange, coconut, and strawberry are just to name a few of the flavors. Each juice was priced at only 1.50 euro per juice. This amazed me. Back in the United States, fresh juice is around 6 dollars and it is rare to find.

In the United States, it has been a popular trend to detox with a juice cleanse. A juice cleanse can last one day or three days of just drinking all-natural juices. Now the I have access to organic juices, I will be able to try cleanses while I am in Barcelona. Here a few reasons why a juice cleanse is beneficial for your body:

1. Easier way to get your servings of fruits and vegetables

2. Easier to digest

3. Weight loss

4. Boosts immune system

5. Rehydrates the body

With all these benefits, I was sure to purchase a juice. Strawberry-banana was the flavor I decided to try. It didn’t disappoint. It was sweet and satisfying. I was so pleased with myself that I didn’t settle for a carb loaded baguette.IMG_3898_2

In the market, I came across a massive candy stand. There were truffles, gummies, and all different kinds of chocolates. I couldn’t resist. I chose one small white chocolate ball and one small dark chocolate truffle. They were delicious.

IMG_3910_2It is okay to give into your cravings every once in a while. That way, when you do eat sweets, you don’t over indulge. If you are going to give into your sweet tooth, try to chose a dark chocolate. My favorite type of chocolate is white chocolate, I can’t go through life without it. I have learned to limit myself when trying it.

If you are ever in Barcelona, make sure to check out Mercat de St. Josep Boqueria on Las Rhamblas. The market is full of people but spacious enough to grab what you need. Check out the natural juices and pick your favorite flavor for a cheap, juice cleanse!

Leave a Reply

